About the Sydenham Cricket Club

The Sydenham Cricket Club is one of the oldest cricket clubs in New Zealand and was officially founded in 1895 but our heritage in other forms dates back even earlier. We are the largest senior cricket club in the South Island with 12 Senior Mens and Womens teams, five Youth teams, 35 Junior teams, and over 250 registered players. We are a "Premier" club operating in the Christchurch Metro Cricket Association competition and based at Sydenham Park in beautiful Christchurch in the South Island of New Zealand.

The devastating earthquakes that shook Christchurch in 2010 and 2011 resulted in the extensive renovations to our grounds and  club pavilion such that the club now unquestionably boasts the best cricket facilities in the South Island in terms of its ground, pavilion with its large electronic scoreboard, extensive grass and astro practice facilities, live streaming of home matches etc - refer to Clubrooms and Facilities under Our Club.

The club's Premier side is currently coached by ex-Blackcap Chris Harris, and the club itself is proud to have been the home of a number of outstanding New Zealand Black Cap players over the years; in more recent times past NZ captains Stephen Fleming and Lee Germon, and Blackcap players Richard PetrieDarrin Murray and Blair Hartland. Equally our Womans cricket had a history of producing outstanding White Fern players such as Lesley ShanklandSue BrownNicki TurnerJennifer Turner and Maia Lewis. They are currently coached by ex-White Fern player Maria Lankeshwar (nee Fahey)

Although our Premier Mens and Womens sides are naturally a big focus, the heart of the club are our large number of social afternoon grade teams, and the growing number of junior teams managed by our junior club. New members are always welcome across both Seniors and Juniors, Mens and Womens grades. Expressions of interest to join the club can be made through our registration system on this site.

Registrations Enquiries - Email Us